Dec. 29 – reading in exotic places

I’ve been meaning to do this for the last couple years.  One of the benefits of cruising is having lots of time to read.  This year I started getting ebooks from my home library which has saved me lots of money.  Sadly the popularity of ebooks has diminished the book swaps but I’ve still been given some gems.  In St. John, USVI, I met 3 wonderful women volunteering at the Nat’l. Park Service office who gave me some good suggestions.  I truly enjoyed the hours spent chatting with them about our favorite reads.  I’ve also met new cruisers on the Salty Dawg Rally this fall and fell into lengthy discussions about books and authors. So although I’m not picking up physical books nearly as much as before, I’m meeting new people who are avid readers as well.

Here’s my favorites from 2016 which is only my 5* reads out of the 57 books for 2016:

The Telling Room: A Tale of Love, Betrayal, Revenge and the World’s Greatest Cheese by Michael Paterniti

Yes Chef by Marcus Samuelsson

In The Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides

Mrs. Tom Thumb by Melanie Benjamin

Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

Lab Girl by Hope Jahren

Elephant Moon by John Sweeney

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

11/22/63 by Stephen King

Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan

My goal was to read 60 books this year.  I still have 3 days so who knows, I might just add another book or two.

Please drop me a line if you have recommendations.