Day 7 – Nov. 28 – pancake rocks, muddy waters and suds

The Punakaiki pancake rocks and blow hole did not disappoint.  To quote the flyer “it thrives in its own subtropical microclimate…magnificent karst limestone landscape”.  NZ really knows how to design a park setting for maximum viewing.  If I ever figure out how to post a video I’ll insert it.

By the way, Jim just informed me I should mention you can click on one of the images to start the slideshow.

After the pancake rocks we drove a little further to Pororari Gorge, across a fenced pasture, down a dirt road and past the horses into a peaceful river valley.  My attempt to scramble across the shallow bit was a mistake and I landed hip deep in the rust-colored muddy water.  Good thing my camera is mounted to my chest instead of hanging off my shoulder.  The water is tainted from tannin leeching from the vegetation.

I don’t know what was worse, the cold wet ride into Greymouth, or presenting myself for check-in at Global Village looking rather trampish.  After a thorough hosing down I was able to wash my only pair of jeans.

It was an exhausting day driving along the ocean, the hiking and the bathing – we worked hard at enjoying ourselves – and we relaxed at Monteith’s Brewery, sampling their suds.

One thought on “Day 7 – Nov. 28 – pancake rocks, muddy waters and suds

  1. Amazing pics and vivid descriptions as usual! Looking fwd to having you guys back!   Lucia

    ~~~  Follow me … from Sea … to Shining Sea ~~~

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

